Secularist of the Year

Secularist of the Year

The Secularist of the Year is awarded by the South African Secular Society (SASS). The award goes to the individual or organisation that the judges consider to have made the greatest contribution to the separation of religion and government in the country for that year. The prize consists of a certificate and was first awarded in 2017.

Factors considered in the award include, but are not limited to:

  • The extent of benefit accrued to, or harm averted from, the secular cause in South Africa and beyond
  • Contribution to the normalisation of secular views in the public eye (awareness, media coverage)
  • Current – or groundwork for possible future – legislative impact of the nominee’s actions
  • Nominee’s overall presence in South African society as a positive role model for secularism

The “Secularist of the Year” Award enables secularists and others who recognise the value of a secular state to celebrate milestones and meritorious achievements in the advancement of egalitarian treatment of South African citizens by their government and society.

Previous Winners:

2019:Prof Sakkie Spangenberg, an academic, theologian and co-founders of the Nuwe Hervorming Netwerk
2018:Dr Patrick Pillay PhD, for his academic contribution.
2017:Hans Pietersen, founder of the “Organisasie vir Godsdienste-Onderrig en Demokrasie” (OGOD).

Nomination for Secularist of the Year 2020

SASS calls on interested parties to submit nominations by February 2021.  Closing date is 28 February 2021. Please submit your nomination and motivation here:


    Prof Sakkie Spangenberg

    An academic, theologian and co-founder of the Nuwe Hervorming Netwerk.



    Dr Patrick Pillay PhD

    For his academic contribution.



    Hans Pietersen

    Founder of the “Organisasie vir Godsdienste-Onderrig en Demokrasie” (OGOD).

    Scroll Up